CELERY LEAF and AVOCADO SALAD

One rarely hears of anyone using celery leaves for anything. This Celery Leaf and Avocado Salad was bananas. Everyone loved it including the kids.

I bought fresh celery from the farmer’s market because I wanted to make some Jamaican Chicken Noodle Soup for my family. I thought I heard the children with a few sniffles and sneezes so I was thinking to counter anything, just in case they were coming down with something.

The celery leaves were so green and smelled so good I didn’t want to throw them out. So I googled ways to use celery leaves. Wow, who knew! One can also make a lovely pesto.

Avocado & Celery leaf Salad (5)

Chicken Soup was the main course but the salad stood out so much more to me.

Many cooks discard the celery leaves after they chop them from the sticks. Not many people think to use the leaves for anything, but I decided to experiment a little and it turned out really, really good. Enjoy!  ٩(^ᴗ^)و 

Ingredients
10 leaves of Lettuce (lightly shredded)
1 medium Tomato (large cuts)
1 small Avocado (peeled, deseeded and diced)
1 cup of fresh Celery Leaves (separated – only the greenest ones)
1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Method
Combine all ingredients in a large covered bowl and toss gently. Add salt & pepper to taste.

My wife described the salad’s taste as a delicious leafy green with a sharp savory kick.

CELERY LEAF and AVOCADO SALAD

Leave a Reply

