Montreal Steak & Cheese

This Montreal Steak & Cheese is a first attempt for me. I think it turned out rather well and my fam enjoyed it very much.

Montreal Steak & Cheese (1)
My Plate

 

In our home we rarely eat beef. I mean, we’ll go for years without eating any beef then one day, out of the blue, I’ll do a Jamaican Peppered Steak. So instead of beef, this recipe used the thinly sliced pork that Japanese cooks use to make donburi.
Enjoy!  ٩(^ᴗ^)و

Ingredients
1 kg of thinly sliced pork belly
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Tbsp Montreal Steak spice
(Contains garlic, coriander, black pepper, cayenne pepper flakes, dill seed and salt.)
1 medium onion (chopped)
280g of shredded mozzarella cheese

Method
Separate the pork loosely and sprinkle the steak spice evenly over it. Add the olive oil and gently rub the spices and oil in. Place the mixture in a large pan on high heat and allow it to cook for 10 minutes. Stir the mixture often with a wooden spoon to separate and prevent clumping. After 10 minutes, reduce the heat to medium, add onions and cover for 5  minutes. After 5 minutes mix well with the wooden spoon, sprinkle the cheese evenly on top and turn off the heat. Allow it to sit until all the cheese is melted. Serve on lightly toasted sesame buns with lettuce and thinly sliced tomatoes. Serves 10

Montreal Steak & Cheese (3)

My inspiration for this came from a post I saw (it looked so yummy) on a blog I follow. I decided to try it with some of the seasonings I use and the Japanese sliced pork available in our supermarket.

Montreal Steak & Cheese

Leave a Reply

