CUCUMBER DRINK

CUCUMBER DRINK

Jamaica is tropical and my family drinks this all the time when we are there. This cucumber drink is my 2nd personal favorite; second only to my fantastic (acerola or West Indian) cherry drink. But the cherry drink is for another post. (^^)

cucumber drink

Since we’ve lived in Japan, we’ve always made this cucumber drink during the hot summer months. It’s no secret that eating cucumbers cools you to the core, so why not drink it as a beverage! Here is the recipe. Do enjoy! ٩(^ᴗ^)و

Ingredients
4 large cucumbers (unpeeled, washed & sliced into ¼ inch slices)
2 liters of purified water
½ cup of fresh ginger (chopped)
1 large lime (juiced) or 2 Tablespoons of organic 100% lime juice
A sweetener of your choice (I use organic honey, which gives me a unique taste)
Method
Combine the chopped cucumbers and ginger with water in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
(You may have to blend 2 or more batches at a time depending on the size of your food processor.)
Strain the mixture into a large bowl.
(Sometimes I use muslin cloth to remove all pulp. For this batch I used a regular strainer so you can see some pulp in my glass.)
Add the lime juice then sweeten to a taste that’s suitable for you. Chill in the refrigerator and serve cold. Makes a little more than 2 liters.

Cheers.

CUCUMBER DRINK

